My November Little Loves: Gilmores & Cosy Coats

November has been a bit of a hectic month. I’ve somewhat fallen off the blogging bandwagon. Not for any major reason, aside from PLAGUE and  ILLNESS that has ravaged the house. Only a slight exaggeration that. The boy child, of course, brought it home from creche in the form of a lung infection. Ridiculous high temperature (39.4!), scary lethargy and all. He was miserable and refused to sleep alone. So, off toddles Mammy to his room, co-sleeping for about a week. Surprise, Surprise, he passed it on. And in the way only I seem to be able to do, I managed to multiply it, getting struck down with an ear, throat and chest infection that will NOT go away. So, I’ve been out of work and unable to write because…. well, because my brain is fogged down with medications and illness and thoughts of naps.

november-little-loves_-gilmore-girls-and-cosy-coats

That’s not all that’s happened in November though, so in the interests of jumping back onto the bandwagon, here we go. I’m going to put together a post as part of the My Little Loves linky as I sometimes do, which is hosted on the fab Coffee Work Sleep Repeat’s blog. Somewhat of a look back on the month that was, before heading into a hectic December.

READ

This month I’ve been reading a lot of books thanks to catching some fantastic deals on Amazon’s Kindle Store (Yay for Black Friday Deals!). Surprisingly I’ve started reading a whole lot more fiction, which I’m quite enjoying.

First up was a much lauded by critics thriller, The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena. A couple goes to dinner in the house next door, leaving their baby asleep in their house. They check on her every half hour, but when the mother checks at 1am, the baby is gone. It’s every parent’s worst nightmare, and one which has been spoken a lot of in conjunction with the disappearance of Madeleine McCann in 2007. Lapena writes well, it’s a definite page turner, though I was a little disappointed by the ending. For fans of Gone Girl or The Girl on The Train.

Sticking with thrillers, C.L Taylor’s The Accident was a great discovery. Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a dark reality. Retracing her daughter’s steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past. The main character is questionable as a witness, you spend a lot of the book questioning whether her view is accurate or not. It’s also half in flashback to Sue’s own growing-up years which adds extra depth to her character. I tore through this one and was sad to finish it.

On the lighter side of things, Michael McIntyre’s autobiography, Life and Laughing, was definitely a refreshing add to my November reading list. I’m a big fan of his comedy (the below clip is a great example if you’re not familiar). I really enjoyed learning about how he came up the ranks of comedy and different things that have formed his personality.

WATCHED

November has been quite a month for TV shows.

Over on Netflix, the Gilmore Girls revival, A Year In The Life, was a much awaited event.Six whole hours back in Stars Hollow! While my memories of some characters were slightly tainted, those of others (Paris and Emily in particular) were made all the more wonderful. Paris Geller deserves her own series. I’d be interested in seeing more, especially seeing as how it was left, but it would be dependent on the writing!

Speaking of much awaited events, November held the Winter Finales of a few of my favourite shows. Standing out from the rest, How To Get Away with Murder was well worth the wait. The reveal of who was Under The Sheet, the mystery of this season, was unexpected and heartbreaking, and is definitely opening up a can of worms for the show from now on.

Online, the fantastic Trevor Noah on The Daily Show has been keeping some sanity in the mix after the election result in the US. This one from mid November in particular was a look at just how the new world order fits in with the rest of the world….

HEARD

There’s been a lot of audiobooks filling up my November. I’ve been liking listening to true stories for quite a while, lots of true crime, but in November it was a bit more calm.

Mara Wilson’s book “Where Am I Now?” caught my interest a few months ago before it’s release. I’m happy to say it lived up to my hype. Now a writer, Mara is most famous for playing the lead role in Matilda, and multiple other movies in the mid-1990s. She tells her story of growing up as a child actor, the awkward teen years hitting, the role anxiety has played in her life and other stories leading up to her life now. I loved it. She’s a really interesting person and speaks in such a way that I would love to hang out with her. Really enjoyed this book.

Following this, I downloaded Naya Rivera’s “Sorry Not Sorry”. Naya is an actress and singer I found through Glee. Her book is a look at her life as a child actor (are you seeing a theme?)), her big break on Glee and beyond. Not exactly Shakespeare but it did give some interesting insight into the behind the scenes goings on in a show that I was a rather big fan of at the time.

In a more serious note, Trevor Noah (yes, the comedian from up above), has a new autobiography “Born A Crime: Tales of A South African Childhood”. Despite it being written by a comedian, for the most part it was a fairly serious read. I learned a lot about apartheid, about the cultural differences in South Africa at that time, lots of things I’d never really looked into. There are some hysterically funny parts among all the serious stuff but it is a really well rounded listen/read. Definitely recommend.

Music wise, Bry has released his first album this November which I am absolutely loving. Currently my favourite song is one called “Fall In Place” which I can’t seem to find online. Here’s a look at the second single from his album which might give you a flavour.

MADE

As I’m not crafty or particularly kitchen talented, I’ll have to go with “Made Progress in my driving”. I’ve gotten a test date for the middle of the month, and have been getting lots of practice in. Slight plan scupper caused by my car keys vanishing (I’m waiting for the toddler to hand them back any day now) but a very expensive replacement later, we’re in business. I look forward to a time hopefully in the near future where I will be able to drive unaccompanied!

WORE

While I’ve not got a photo of it on me, I did find Winter Coat 2016 at the end of this month. I love it. It’s so warm and toasty, and pretty to boot. To give you an idea, here’s a picture of it on the model. It’s also making me consider going brunette again.

November Little Loves Winter Coat New Look

Contemplating the dark hair again. Because that’s all I need to look just like the model, sure…picture from NewLook.com

AND LASTLY..

Aside from driving and watching all the TV, I also got featured in The Sunday Times this month which was absolutely incredible! I was the November Health Blogger of the Month and got to talk all things blogging and mental health. It was fantastic, and I’m super chuffed to have gotten the opportunity.

So, that’s what I’ve been at while avoiding the blog as writers block continues. How was your November? Let me know in the comments below!

 

********

Say Hello Over On Facebook!

Share Button
Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.